IEEE Global Communications Conference
8–10 December 2020 // In-person (Taipei, Taiwan)
7-11 December 2020 // Virtual
Communications for Human and Machine Intelligence

Special Events

IEEE COMSOC AWARDS CEREMONY

Date: Tuesday, 8 December 2020
Time: 12:30 PM EST (New York time) (13:30 on 9 December, Taipei time, GMT+8)

The Awards Ceremony honors the achievements of IEEE and IEEE Communications Society members with a myriad of paper awards for their various contributions to the society. The Society’s major paper awards recognize outstanding and original papers published in IEEE ComSoc journals and magazines, which essentially enlarge the field of communications engineering; for example, open new lines of research, envision bold approaches to communication and formulate new problems to solve. Award recipients discover, extend, or complement technological advancements in education, industry, research and service.

5G and Beyond 5G: Vision and Research Challenges

Date: Tuesday, 8 December 2020
Time: 21:00-23:00 (Taiwan time, GMT+8)
Location: Virtual Platform

Organizers: Ai-Chun Pang, National Taiwan University and Kate Ching-Ju Lin, National Chiao-Tung University, Taiwan

Coordinator: Fang-Jing Wu, TU Dortmund University, Germany

Panelists:
Wenjing Lou, Virginia Tech, USA
Toktam Mahmoodi, King’s College London, UK
Mariya Zheleva, University at Albany, USA
Lydia Hsiao-Mei Lin, Taiwan Data Science Co., LTD. (TDSC), Taiwan
Chin-Ya Huang, National Taiwan University of Science and Technology, Taiwan

Abstract: While large-scale 5G deployment is coming around, the industry and academia have started to think about B5G/6G, and are eager to identify their key features. 5G drives the development of IoT industry and various vertical markets such as smart city, remote healthcare and connected vehicles. This opens up more opportunities for researchers to explore cross-disciplinary fields and further stimulates the evolution of communication and networking technology. In this panel, we invite outstanding professors and young professionals, who are active in N2Women community, to share their vision on B5G/6G and valuable experiences in doing research and building career. Specifically, the following questions will be discussed:

  • Has 5G been well designed?
  • How will B5G/6G differ from 5G?
  • What are killer applications and new challenges of B5G/6G?
  • What are potential research opportunities for B5G/6G?
  • With the evolution of communication technology (e.g., 5G and even beyond 5G), what will be the biggest change and new opportunities in IoT industry and its ecosystems?

YP Week at GLOBECOM 2020

Qualcomm Session with Dr. Alexei Gorokhov, VP of Technology, Qualcomm and Dr. Hao Xu, Head of Qualcomm Research China
Date/Time: Monday, 7 December
Description: Senior Leaders from Qualcomm describe frontier of research in 2020 and beyond.

Rising Stars of ComSoc: YP Team + Award Winners
Date/Time: Tuesday, 8 December, 13:00 GMT (21:00 Taiwan time, GMT+8)
Description: ComSoc’s Rising Stars (Top Candidates from Various ComSoc Awards) will share their work with the audience, with award nominees and thoughts on the future of Communications Technology. 

Fireside Chat: Gerhard Fettweis, Vodafone Chair, TU Dresden, and Meryem Simsek, Senior Research Scientist, ICSI, Berkeley
Date/Time: Wednesday, 8 December, 18:00 GMT (1:00 Taiwan time on 9 December)
Description: TBD

Tutorial with Lajos Hanzo, Chair in Telecommunication, University of Southampton
Date/Time: Thursday, 10 December, 11:00 GMT (19:00 Taiwan time, GMT+8)
Description: TBD

Tutorial with Halim Yanikomeroglu, Carleton University, Ottawa, Canada
Date/Time: Thursday, 10 December, 16:00 GMT (24:00 Taiwan time, GMT+8)
Description: TBD

Recruiting Sessions with Qualcomm: Closed Session (Invitation Only)
Date/Time: Friday, 11 December
Description: TBD

Patrons